Crossfade Roulette: An EDM Sampler
Toni Tileva | Nov 28, 2012 | 10:00AM |

All words: Toni Tileva

In this column, we cover songs for you to nod your head to in the EDM scene [electronic dance music, not extra dancey music, for those not in the know].

1. Expansion Broadcast Plus Good Mix

Expansion Broadcast Radio has been my all-time favorite radio station, with its consistent [think weekly] delivery of some the freshest, deepest bass music around. A true blessing to the DC edm scene, EXBC Radio’s roster of talent reads like a who’s-who of the DC DJ MVPs [most valuable plate-selectors]. In this installment, Plus Good, aka Ben Black, drops a mind-blowing array of drum’n’bass goodness spanning everything from jungle to liquid. Plus Good and Retrospect are the force behind Medication, a one Thursday a month homage to brilliant bassdom at Cafe Saint Ex. As this mix indicates, this is some smooth medicine; get your fix.

2. Erykah Badu – Love Of My Life (Kaytradamus Remix)

There is Nostradamus, Flosstradamus, and now Montreal’s Kaytradamus. The only commonality is the former portends luscious beats in your future. The lilting piano beat carries this already gorgeous ode to friendship and love to new heights. This is some future-sing you can get behind.

3. Jeru The Damaja – Ya Playin’ Yaself (Cheapshot Remix)

This remix is absolutely mental. DJ Cheapshot from LA brings some serious jaunt to this classic track. Not playing this would be playing yourself!

4. Kito – Sweet Talk

It is impossible to resist this deliciously sweet morsel of dubstep confectionary. Australian born Maaike Lebbing, aka Kito, teamed up with vocalist and friend, Reija Lee and released a 4 track EP, “Sweet Talk” on Diplo’s Mad Decent label. “Sweet Talk” gained a lot of airplay on UK’s BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra, as well as holding second place for a number of weeks in the Dubstep Beatport Chart. You will be sweet talked into hitting the repeat button on this one.

5. Calyx & TeeBee–Pure Gold [feat. Kemo]

“We got serious on the drop.” One can say that again. Calyx and TeeBee, veterans of the drum’n’bass scene, released 2012’s All Or Nothing on Andy C’s Ram Records. A track off this release, Pure Gold delivers as promised.

Recent Comments:
  • Blondell says:

    You can definitely see your skills in the article you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe.
    All the time follow your heart. ironsteelcenter

  • Annmarie says:

    Great beat ! I wish to apprentice even as you amend your website,
    how can i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I have been tiny bit familiar of this your broadcast provided brilliant clear concept

  • cara membuat website pribadi says:

    It’s truly a nice and useful piece of information. I am glad that you shared this useful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.|

  • schlã¼sseldienst berlin says:

    Excellent, what a blog it is! This webpage provides valuable facts to us, keep it up.|

  • debt consolidation loans says:

    Hello my friend! I want to say that this article is amazing, nice written and include almost all vital infos. I would like to see extra posts like this .